I need a vacation

It’s been a rough couple days.

Sunday afternoon I was working on my computer and had a glass of juice. I always keep liquids a good distance from it, but I was having a drink and got distracted and set it down right in front of the computer. Then when I went back to what I was doing I bumped it and it tipped over right on top of the keyboard. I panicked and grabbed a towel and tilted the computer so it wouldn’t all run in, but it was too late. It shut itself off and has not turned on since.

That evening I was letting it dry out and had the bright idea to remove the back of the computer. I figured if I did that and lay it upside down, that might help it dry better/faster. I removed the screws and tried to pull the back off. The clips released but it still wouldn’t move. I looked up a tutorial online and saw that Apple had designed it to slide into brackets on the rear. So I started tugging.

Pull it once. Nothing
Pull it twice. Nothing
Start to get annoyed and give it one more big tug. It instantly releases

…And the sharp edge of the panel slices straight through my thumb. I start bleeding profusely and freaking out. Crying, screaming somewhat, running around the place digging around for gauze and tape. I wrap it and tape it off tightly. Its a nice looking big flesh flap on the side of my thumb now. After a couple days it’s healing alright, I guess. It’s pretty bad, but it could’ve been much worse.

That was for nothing. The computer dried out and still won’t turn on. Anyway, I have an appointment with a local certified Apple repair affiliate to look at it today.

Fun Shit.

P.S. The iPad Pro isn’t a computer replacement no matter how much Apple tries to say it is. If I had to rely on it to do my job, I wouldn’t be able to work right now.

Leave a comment